Wedding Maps

Diary of a Bride to Be by Lauren Cooper

There’s a recent trend that I’ve really taken a liking to:  Wedding Maps.  I first saw the wedding map in Martha Stewart Weddings magazine and I fell in love with the idea.  It’s such a creative and fresh take on direction cards!  Fortunately, there are tons of stationers on sites like Etsy that can create a wedding map for you…however, it can be a bit pricey.  So I took matters into my own hands and drew up our map myself! 

I’m a fan of DIY-ing but, as I’ve mentioned before, I don’t really want to overwhelm myself since all of my wedding helpers are a few hours away.  😦  Keeping that in mind, I thought drawing a map and sending it to whatever stationer I chose would be a simple and fun project. And I was right.  I went to Google maps, looked up where our wedding is being held and searched for locations nearby that pertain to our wedding weekend.  Clicked print and viola!  A simple template.  I carefully traced the streets that I needed and added in the locations.  Then I drew little symbols that went along with each destination.  For example, there’s a golf course nearby that people can visit, so I drew a tiny golf bag.  Finally, I very carefully hand printed the names of the streets and destinations.  And it looks pretty!  I’m scanning it in to the computer today so that I can pass on to the stationer when I’m ready.  (Yes, I still have to choose invites.  Yes, I have a week left to do so.  I know, I know!)  Pictures to come soon!

Leave a comment